top of page
  • Writer's pictureGayle Thorn

Weeds


Bible Verses to Explore: Matthew 13:24-30

One year, I went on vacation. When I returned home, weeds had popped up throughout my garden! I knew I had to pull up those weeds and throw them away. Why? If those weeds

continued to grow in my garden they would steal the food and water that my vegetables needed to grow.

Later, I thought, my life is like my garden. God has planted the seeds of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control in my life. I need to protect the things God is trying to grow in me by pulling up and throwing away weeds like hatred, bitterness, impatience, selfishness, dishonesty, and anger. Why? If I don’t get rid of those things, the seeds God planted can’t grow properly. Hebrews 6:8 describes it like this: “But if it grows thorns and weeds, it is worthless and in danger of being cursed by God. It will be destroyed by fire.”

What kind of things are growing in your life? Ask God to help you find and destroy any

weeds that are growing in your life. Ask God to help you grow good things in your life. Things like the fruit of the Spirit: “love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control” (Galatians 5:22, 23).

Let’s pray. Heavenly Father, help me uproot the wicked weeds in my life-garden. Help the seeds I planted to flourish. In Jesus' name. Amen.

I invite you to download the Inductive Bible Study Guide and focus on God and His word for a bit longer. Just click on the logo. J

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page