top of page
  • Writer's pictureGayle Thorn

The Scapegoat

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

Life changes.

My life has changed.

As a result, I am discontinuing this website/blog.

I have posts planned through June 26, 2023. After that, I plan to continue to write and share my devotions and artwork via my social media accounts on Facebook, LinkedIn, and True Social. (If you use a different social media platform and would prefer to have me share on it, let me know and I will consider opening an account on that platform.)

If you would like to continue reading my posts, you may follow me on one of the above social media platforms. I am considering sending my posts to subscribers. If you are interested in receiving a weekly email from me with that week’s post, let me know and I will consider the level of interest in my thought process.

Thank you for faithfully following and reading my posts for the past few years.

God bless!


Gayle


Bible Reading: Psalm 51:3


Scapegoating is blaming someone or something else for your mistakes or bad behavior. The person or thing being blamed for your actions is the scapegoat.


Jesus is our scapegoat. God put all of the blame and guilt for all of our bad behavior on Jesus. God held Jesus accountable for every bad thing we have ever done. God punished Jesus – who had never done anything wrong or evil – instead of punishing us. We did the wrong – Jesus took the blame.

Romans 3:23 tells us that we have all sinned, every last one of us. We need to acknowledge our sin. We should say with the writer of Psalm 51:3, “For I know my transgressions, and my sin is always before me.”

Then, we should confess our sins to God and ask His forgiveness. When we do, Jesus will take responsibility for our sins. The blood Jesus shed on the cross will be the punishment for our sins. God will forgive us. We will become new, inside and out, able to start a new life, free of the entanglement of sin.


“But thanks be to God that, though you once were slaves to sin, you wholeheartedly obeyed the form of teaching to which you were committed. You have been set free from sin and have become slaves to righteousness.” Romans 6:17 & 18

Prayer: Heavenly Father, I’m so sad and sorry that Jesus had to take the blame for my bad behavior! Forgive me and set me free from my sin. In Jesus’ name. Amen.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page