top of page
  • Writer's pictureGayle Thorn

The Test

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

Life changes.

My life has changed.

As a result, I am discontinuing this website/blog.

I have posts planned through June 26, 2023. After that, I plan to continue to write and share my devotions and artwork via my social media accounts on Facebook, LinkedIn, and True Social. (If you use a different social media platform and would prefer to have me share on it, let me know and I will consider opening an account on that platform.)

If you would like to continue reading my posts, you may follow me on one of the above social media platforms. I am considering sending my posts to subscribers. If you are interested in receiving a weekly email from me with that week’s post, let me know and I will consider the level of interest in my thought process.

Thank you for faithfully following and reading my posts for the past few years.

God bless!


Gayle


Bible Reading: Judges 3:4


When God led the Israelites into the Promised Land, He also led them into battle to rid the land of the evil nations of people who had ignored and rejected God. God

didn’t allow the Israelites to completely eliminate these people from the land. God allowed some of these evil people escape death and continue to live in the Promised Land right alongside the Israelites “…to test the Israelites to see whether they would obey the LORD's commands, which he had given their forefathers through Moses” (Judges 3:4)

God knew that if the entire enemy were eliminated, the younger Israelites would never have the opportunity to learn how to fight to defend their land and their God. He knew that without an enemy, the Israelites would never learn how to cope with difficult people and hard times. He knew that they wouldn’t learn how to trust God when those difficult people and hard times showed up. God knew that the “test” that he left for the Israelites was necessary to turn them into a disciplined, God-dependent people.

Sometimes God will test us, too. He wants us to learn how to defend our faith against difficult people and how to stand firm when things get hard.

When those tests come, lean on God. Depend on Him to guide and protect you. He’ll be right there with you helping you pass the test.


“I depend on God alone; I put my hope in him.” Psalm 62:5 (GNT)


Prayer: Heavenly Father, help me to depend on You. I want to learn to lean on You. In Jesus’ name. Amen.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page