top of page
  • Writer's pictureGayle Thorn

Season the Word

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

Life changes.

My life has changed.

As a result, I am discontinuing this website/blog.

I have posts planned through June 26, 2023. After that, I plan to continue to write and share my devotions and artwork via my social media accounts on Facebook, LinkedIn, and True Social. (If you use a different social media platform and would prefer to have me share on it, let me know and I will consider opening an account on that platform.)

If you would like to continue reading my posts, you may follow me on one of the above social media platforms. I am considering sending my posts to subscribers. If you are interested in receiving a weekly email from me with that week’s post, let me know and I will consider the level of interest in my thought process.

Thank you for faithfully following and reading my posts for the past few years.

God bless!


Gayle


Bible Reading: Mark 9:50


Salt changes food and influences how food tastes to us. Too little salt and food is bland and uninteresting. Too much salt and food becomes bitter and inedible.


Jesus compared us to salt saying in Mark 9:50, “Salt is good, but if it loses its saltiness, how can you make it salty again? Have salt in yourselves, and be at peace with each other.”

We are to act as salt and “season” God’s message of love and forgiveness through Jesus. If we don’t season the Gospel message enough, people will find it bland and boring. If we don’t seem interested in Jesus and the salvation He offers, they won’t be interested either.

If we over-season the gospel message, by trying to force people to believe in and accept Jesus we will make the good news of Jesus offensive to peoples’ “spiritual taste buds.”

We must also be careful that we don’t we lose our saltiness. Losing our saltiness means that we stop functioning as Christians – we no longer fulfill our responsibility to honor and obey God, love and help people, and spread the gospel message. We will leave a bitter taste in their mouths and cause them to lose their appetite for the things of God.

Ask God to help you to be just the right amount of salt in your home and community.


“Your speech should always be pleasant and interesting, and you should know how to give the right answer to everyone.” Colossians 4:6 (GNT)


Prayer: Heavenly Father, give me just the right touch as I work to gently season your message of love and salvation and share it with the people around me. In Jesus’ name. Amen.



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page