top of page
  • Writer's pictureGayle Thorn

Wednesday at the Well: Matthew 25:11-13 - "I'll Do It Later"


Bible Verses to Explore: Matthew 25:11-13


How many times have you heard the gospel? How many times have you listened to a preacher or a friend tell you that the only way to heaven is to admit that you have

sinned and ask Jesus to forgive your sin and send his Spirit to live in your heart?

Why have you put off making that commitment?

One of the biggest excuses is “I’ll do it later.”

That was the excuse some of the virgins gave in Matthew 25 when they needed oil. Rather than buying what they needed so they would be prepared when the bridegroom arrived. They put it off. As a result, they had to rush off at the last moment to buy oil for their lamps.

Then, when the bridegroom arrived and the door to the wedding feasts was

closed, the virgins arrived at the door only to have this conversation with the bridegroom (verses 11-13): “Later the others also came. ‘Sir! Sir!’ they said. ‘Open the door for us!’ But he replied, ‘I tell you the truth, I don't know you.’ Therefore keep watch, because you do not know the day or the hour.” Their “I’ll do it later” attitude cost them dearly.

Is that an excuse that you have used when given the opportunity to confess and repent of your sin and accept Jesus as your Lord and Savior?

When is later?

Later is now. If you wait, later may be too late. Jesus is coming back soon. Get ready now.

God loves you. Jesus died for you. The Spirit wants to be with you.

Give God the chance to be with you, to help you through your struggles, to show you that he loves you.

As Paul wrote in 2 Corinthians 6:2, “For he says, ‘In the time of my favor I heard you, and in the day of salvation I helped you.’ I tell you, now is the time of God's favor, now is the day of salvation.” Choose to accept God’s gift of salvation now.

You can spend later in heaven with him.

I hope you will seriously consider praying this prayer: Heavenly Father, I don’t want to wait for later to come. I want you in my life now. I have sinned. Forgive me. I believe Jesus died in my place, to pay for my sin. Give me Jesus as my Lord and Savior and put His Holy Spirit in my heart to be my comfort, strength, teacher, and guide. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

I am glad you came and spent time in God’s word with me today! Please accept my gift of a free Inductive Bible study guide – just click the image.

God bless!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page