top of page
  • Writer's pictureGayle Thorn

Wednesday at the Well: John 15:12-16 - Best Friend


Bible Verses to Explore: John 15:12-16

Important Note: In this devotional I sometimes use the name, “Jesus,” and sometimes use the name, “God.” It is worth reminding ourselves that Jesus IS God. When we pray, we are speaking to God – Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. When we ask God to do things for us, we make those requests in the power of the name of Jesus, God’s Son, the second person in the Trinity. I know I often start our prayers at the end of these devotional articles with the greeting, Heavenly Father,” but we aren’t limited to that name for God. We can also address our prayers using God, Jesus, Lord, or any of the other many names of God. Now, let’s get started with today’s devotional article:


Who do you talk to when you are scared, worried, need advice, or just want to talk? I talk to my husband. I talk to friends from church or my family. I also talk to Jesus. I can talk

to Jesus about anything. Jesus will give me anything I ask in His name – even a listening ear. Jesus is my best friend.

Jesus was just like us. Sometimes Jesus needed to talk to someone about his fears and worries, too. Like us, Jesus talked to his friends (read John 16).

Like our friends, Jesus’ friends, the disciples, didn’t always understand what Jesus was saying or how He was feeling so Jesus also talked to his Father, God (read John 17). His Father, our Heavenly Father, always understood what Jesus was feeling.

When you are scared, worried, need advice, just want to talk and feel like no one

understands, talk to Jesus. He always listens. He always understands. He always helps. Why? Jesus wants to be our best friend! In fact, in John 15:14-15 Jesus said, “You are my friends if you do what I tell you to do. I [Jesus] no longer call you servants, because servants don't know what their master is doing. But now I call you friends, because I have told you everything that my Father told me.” InVerse 16 Jesus goes on to say that the “Father will give you anything you ask for in my [Jesus] name.” – even a listening ear, one genuine sign of a true best friend!

Let’s pray. Heavenly Father, Lord Jesus, we thank You for always being there when we need to talk. Thank You for always understanding our problems and our needs. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

I hope you will download the Inductive Study Guide. While we usually focus on just a verse or two, this week, you might like to use the Guide to study John chapters 16 & 17 in addition to today’s verses. Another option would be to do the Inductive Study on today’s verse and simply read those two extra chapters to help you gain context and watch Jesus’ interaction with His friends.

Either way, Thanks for visiting and God bless!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page