top of page
  • Writer's pictureGayle Thorn

Tug-of-War

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

Life changes.

My life has changed.

As a result, I am discontinuing this website/blog.

I have posts planned through June 26, 2023. After that, I plan to continue to write and share my devotions and artwork via my social media accounts on Facebook, LinkedIn, and True Social. (If you use a different social media platform and would prefer to have me share on it, let me know and I will consider opening an account on that platform.)

If you would like to continue reading my posts, you may follow me on one of the above social media platforms. I am considering sending my posts to subscribers. If you are interested in receiving a weekly email from me with that week’s post, let me know and I will consider the level of interest in my thought process.

Thank you for faithfully following and reading my posts for the past few years.

God bless!


Gayle

Bible Reading: Romans 12:9-12


It can be uncomfortable when Christian friends aren’t getting along. Being stuck in the middle is no fun.


Paul had some good advice in today’s scripture to get each of us through those times without feeling like the rope in a game of Tug-of-War. This passage says, “Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. Be devoted to one another in brotherly love. Honor one another above yourselves. Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.”

Let’s sum up Paul’s advice:


* Offer advice only if it’s asked for, and when you do give advice, base it on God’s word – know what God’s word teaches & stand by it (V. 9).

* Respect the space of each of the quarreling friends. Let each one of them make his or her own choices and love them both even if you don’t love their decisions (V. 10).

* Be determined to keep God as the most important One in your life, even if your friends choose to turn their backs on Him (V. 11).

* Be patient. Pray nonstop for both of your friends and for yourself. Smile as you remind yourself that, ultimately, God is in control of the situation!


Let’s pray that each one of us takes Paul’s advice so that our friendships don’t turn into a tug-of-war.


“A righteous man is cautious in friendship, but the way of the wicked leads them astray.” Proverbs 12:26


Prayer: Heavenly Father, help me to do everything I can to keep my friendships friendly so they don’t turn into a tug-of-war. In Jesus’ name. Amen.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page