top of page
  • Writer's pictureGayle Thorn

Quirks & Flaws


IMPORTANT NOTICE:

Life changes.

My life has changed.

As a result, I am discontinuing this website/blog.

I have posts planned through June 26, 2023. After that, I plan to continue to write and share my devotions and artwork via my social media accounts on Facebook, LinkedIn, and True Social. (If you use a different social media platform and would prefer to have me share on it, let me know and I will consider opening an account on that platform.)

If you would like to continue reading my posts, you may follow me on one of the above social media platforms. I am considering sending my posts to subscribers. If you are interested in receiving a weekly email from me with that week’s post, let me know and I will consider the level of interest in my thought process.

Thank you for faithfully following and reading my posts for the past few years.

God bless!


Gayle


Bible Reading: Proverbs 20:3


One of the biggest causes of disagreements and arguments is focusing on the faults of another person instead of on correcting one’s own faults. When we do this

(Jesus calls it “judging others” in Matthew 7:1, 2), we let ourselves get so worked up about every little quirk and imperfection of those around us that we feel it’s our duty to point out these flaws. Pointing out these flaws generally leads to arguments, harsh words, and hurt feelings. Proverbs 20:3 says that “It is to a man's honor to avoid strife, but every fool is quick to quarrel.” This is actually true of all people. It is to the benefit of everyone to avoid strive, quarrels, criticism, and fault-finding.

The Bible gives us some things that we can do to better deal with conflicts. Here are a few of those principles:


* Find things on which you can agree. (1 Corinthians 1:10)

* Clear up misunderstandings promptly. (Ephesians 4:26)

* Learn to be patient with others – remind yourself that no one is perfect except God. (1 Corinthians 13:4)

* Admit you have flaws and focus on eliminating them. (Psalm 18:30 & Romans 3:23)


Perhaps we should memorize these verses so we have their principles firmly in mind the next time conflict arises. That way we will be better prepared to diffuse the situation and show love and respect to others.


“Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.” Ephesians 4:31 & 32


Prayer: Heavenly Father, open my eyes to my own weaknesses and close them to others’ trivial quirks. In Jesus’ name. Amen.




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page