top of page
  • Writer's pictureGayle Thorn

Obsessive Desires

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

Life changes.

My life has changed.

As a result, I am discontinuing this website/blog.

I have posts planned through June 26, 2023. After that, I plan to continue to write and share my devotions and artwork via my social media accounts on Facebook, LinkedIn, and True Social. (If you use a different social media platform and would prefer to have me share on it, let me know and I will consider opening an account on that platform.)

If you would like to continue reading my posts, you may follow me on one of the above social media platforms. I am considering sending my posts to subscribers. If you are interested in receiving a weekly email from me with that week’s post, let me know and I will consider the level of interest in my thought process.

Thank you for faithfully following and reading my posts for the past few years.

God bless!


Gayle


Bible Reading: Luke 12:13-15


Take a moment and read Luke 12:13-15. We’ll talk about it in a moment.

“Someone in the crowd said to him, ‘Teacher, tell my brother to divide the inheritance

with me.’ Jesus replied, ‘Man, who appointed me a judge or an arbiter between you?’ Then he said to them, ‘Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; a man's life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.’”

Greed is obsessively wanting more than your share or wanting what belongs to someone else. For example, the young man in today’s verses was obsessed with money. He wanted his brother’s share.

There are other examples of the destructive nature of greed in the Bible:


* Achan was obsessed with the treasures taken during battle. He wanted God’s share.

* Saul was obsessed with the love, respect, and attention that the people gave to David. He wanted all of the people’s attention for himself.

* David was obsessed with Uriah’s wife, Bathsheba. He wanted Bathsheba for his own.

* Ahab was obsessed with Naboth’s vineyard. He wanted Naboth’s share.

* Gehazi was obsessed with clothes and getting what he thought he “deserved.” He thought he deserved more that he was getting and set out to take what he wanted.


Are you often looking at others’ belongings and imagining that wishing that they were yours?

Are you envious of the attention that someone else gets?

If you have even the tiniest speck of greediness in your heart, ask God to forgive your obsessive, greedy behavior. Then let God help you be satisfied with what you already have.


“People who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge men into ruin and destruction.” 1 Timothy 6:9


Prayer: Heavenly Father, forgive my greediness. Make me satisfied with the blessings that You’ve give me. In Jesus’ name. Amen.




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page