top of page
  • Writer's pictureGayle Thorn

Christmas Creed - Part 13

Bible Reading: Psalm 139:1-18


Up to this point, “The Christmas Creed” has talked about the things we believe about Jesus. Today’s portion of the creed shifts to talk about what we should do

because of the things we believe about Jesus. This part of “The Christmas Creed” says, “I confess my ever-lasting need of God: The need for forgiveness for our selfishness and greed, the need for a new life for empty souls, the need of love for hearts grown cold.”

As the creed says, we need God! We need God to give us forgiveness for our sin and save us so we can live with Him in heaven forever. Our need for God isn’t only for our salvation and future life. We need God now.

We need God to comfort us when we are hurting (Philippians 4:6 & 7).

We need God to give us peace and joy and hope (Romans 15:13).

We need God to give us clarity, to remove the darkness in our minds and give us light so we can understand His plans and how to live His way (John 12:46 & Jeremiah 29:11).

In fact, we need God for our very existence! Genesis 1:27 says that God created us. Psalm 139:13 & 14 say, “You formed the way I think and feel. You put me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because you made me in such a wonderful way. I know how amazing that was!” Without God, we wouldn’t be alive. God is in control of every breath we take and every beat of our heart.

We NEED God!

I pray that you will stop everything for a moment and think about this part of “The Christmas Creed.” Think about how much you need God. Ask yourself, “Have I acknowledged my need for Jesus and welcomed Him into every part of my life or am I holding something back?”

“I know how to live when I am poor and when I have plenty. I have learned the secret of how to live through any kind of situation—when I have enough to eat or when I am hungry, when I have everything I need or when I have nothing. Christ is the one who gives me the strength I need to do whatever I must do.” Philippians 4:12 & 13


Prayer: Heavenly Father, without Jesus, I have nothing. I can do nothing. I am nothing. I need Jesus and I need You. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page