top of page
  • Writer's pictureGayle Thorn

Christmas Creed - Part 1

Bible Reading: Luke 7:49


Have you ever heard of “The Christmas Creed?”

A “creed” is a statement of the religious beliefs of a person or group.


“The Christmas Creed” states the basic Christian teachings about Christmas and the birth of Jesus Christ. Very little is known about who first wrote this creed. We don’t know who wrote it, where it was written, or why it was written. However, most Christian creeds were written by early church leaders to help teach people the basics of the faith. Creeds were learned and memorized then passed on verbally from person to person.

“The Christmas Creed” reads like this:


“I believe in Jesus Christ and the beauty of the gospel begun in Bethlehem.

I believe in the one whose spirit glorified a little town; and whose spirit still brings music to persons all over the world, in towns both large and small.

I believe in the one for whom the crowded inn could find no room, and I confess that my heart still sometimes wants to exclude Christ from my life today.

I believe in the one who the rulers of the earth ignored, and the proud could never understand; whose life was among ordinary people, whose welcome came from persons of hungry hearts.

I believe in the one who proclaimed the love of God to be invincible:

I believe in the one whose cradle was a mother’s arms, whose modest home in Nazareth had love for its only wealth, who looked at persons and made them see what God’s love saw in them, who by love brought sinners back to purity, and lifted human weakness up to meet the strength of God.

I confess my ever-lasting need of God: The need for forgiveness for our selfishness and greed, the need for a new life for empty souls, the need of love for hearts grown cold.

I believe in God who gives us the best of himself. I believe in Jesus, the son of the living God, born in Bethlehem this night, for me and the world.” – Anonymous


While many churches no longer teach or memorize creeds, creeds still have value. We can learn from them. We can learn from “The Christmas Creed.” “The Christmas Creed” answers questions like, “Who does this man [Jesus] think he is? How can he forgive sins?” (Luke 7:49b).

For the next several days we are going to explore “The Christmas Creed” one phrase at a time. Please join me for this adventure!


“They all said, “Then are you the Son of God?” Jesus said to them, “You are right in saying that I am.” Luke 22:70


Prayer:Heavenly Father, thank You for “The Christmas Creed.”Use it to teach us about Jesus.In Jesus’ name.Amen.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page