top of page
  • Writer's pictureGayle Thorn

Are Your Fingers in Your Ears?

Bible Reading: Matthew 13:14 & 15


Have you ever wondered why some people don’t accept Jesus as their Savior even though they have had the Gospel clearly explained to them again and again?


Jesus, himself, told us the main reason for that: those people have simply chosen to not believe. They have chosen to act just like the little child who puts his fingers in his ears, squeezes his eyes shut and sings, “La-la-la-la-la-la…” in order to avoid hearing or seeing something that he doesn’t like or doesn’t want to hear. They know the truth; they just don’t like it. They don’t like hearing that they have sinned and they don’t want to admit that they aren’t good enough to go to heaven without Jesus. So, they stick their fingers in their ears, squeeze their eyes shut, and start singing in order to avoid dealing with the truth.

Eugene Peterson’s paraphrase of Matthew 13:14 & 15 put it this way: “Your ears are open but you don’t hear a thing. Your eyes are awake but you don’t see a thing. The people are blockheads! They stick their fingers in their ears so they won’t have to listen; They screw their eyes shut so they won’t have to look, so they won’t have to deal with me face-to-face and let me heal them.”

Let’s ask God to help us work hard not to be one of those people.


“We must pay more careful attention, therefore, to what we have heard, so that we do not drift away.” Hebrews 2:1


Prayer: Heavenly Father, I’ve taken my fingers out of my ears and opened my eyes. I’m ready to learn what you want me to learn. Please work in my life. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page