top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

Wednesday at the Well: Acts 1:8 - Tell a Friend


Bible Verses to Explore: Acts 1:8

Sometimes we want to tell a friend about Jesus, but we hesitate. Why? We feel nervous. We think, “What if I say the wrong words?”

I have learned a few things that help me to feel less nervous about telling a friend about Jesus.

First, Acts 1:8 says, “But the Holy Spirit will come on you and give you power.” The Holy Spirit’s power helps me, so I don’t have to feel afraid!

Next, I take spend time with my friend. I learn what is important to him. I learn what interests him. I learn what my friend thinks about God. I learn about my friend’s spiritual background. For example, does my friend go to church regularly or has he never gone to church?

When my friend and I know more about each other it is easier to talk to him about Jesus. Why? He trusts me. He is willing to listen when I tell him Jesus is important to me.

He is willing to listen when I tell him that Jesus loves him and wants to be part of his life.

Do you feel nervous about telling your friends about Jesus? Relax. Be patient. Learn about your friend. Let your friend learn about you. Then, God will help tell your friend about Jesus.

Let’s pray. Heavenly Father, we want our friends to know about Jesus. Help us to share our faith with them. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Please…download the study guide by clicking on the logo. Use it to study today’s verse, and maybe a couple other verses about the gospel, such as Romans 3:23, Romans 6:26, Romans 10:10-13, and 1 John 1:8 & 9. That way you will be better prepared and more confident when opportunities to tell your friends about Jesus arise.

God bless!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page