top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

How to Delight in God's Word


Bible Reading: Psalm 119:16

Psalm 119:16 says, “I delight in your decrees; I will not neglect your word.” This verse make me want to ask, “Do you delight in God’s decrees or do you neglect His word?”

Here are three ways to test yourself and determine if you are truly delighting in God’s word and giving it the attention it deserves:

  1. Know where your Bible is at all times. If you delight in God’s word, you should be able to walk straight your Bible it without need to stop and think about where you left it.

  2. Read and meditate on God’s words daily. You should be able to quickly tell anyone who asks about the last time you read the Bible and about what the verses you read taught you. You should enjoy spending time regularly in God’s company and enjoying listening to His words?

  3. Study the Bible regularly. God’s word deserves to be really dug into deeply. Your faith life should include time spent studying God’s word so you can enrich your understanding of God, God’s plan, how God used the early church, and how God wants to use you in His service.

I hope you can look God straight in the eye and tell Him that you are doing these things because you truly delight in His word.

“How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!” Psalm 119:103

Prayer: Heavenly Father, Thank You for Your word. As I open my Bible to read and study Your word, open my mind so I’ll understand it and learn from it. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page