top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

God's Comedy Shows


Bible Reading: Genesis 1:31

I once had a beagle named Bess. Whenever I’m was the mood for a good laugh, I would get out a flashlight, show it to Bess, turn it on, and aim it at the floor. That silly dog

would chase the beam of that flashlight all over the room until she was exhausted!

It doesn’t matter how many times I drug out that flashlight, Bess would give me the same show, lunging and biting at the circle of light trying to catch it.

I can’t help thinking as I sit watching and laughing at that beagle that God has a wonderful sense of humor. It would take a great sense of humor to create something like a flashlight-chasing beagle, not to mention all of the other amusing things that God’s various creations do. Genesis 1:31 says, “God saw all that he had made, and it was very good. And there was evening, and there was morning--the sixth day.” I believe that, along will all of His creations, God created things that could make us laugh and fill us with joy.

I encourage you to sit back and enjoy one of God’s “comedy shows” today. Let God’s wonderful sense of humor fill your heart with joy.

“This is the day the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.” Psalm 118:24

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank You for the things that make me laugh. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page