top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

Wednesday at the Well: Isaiah 29:11-23 - Love God

Updated: Mar 25, 2020


Bible Verses to Explore: Isaiah 29:11-23

Suppose I say, "I love God," but I never go to church, never read my Bible, and never pray. Do my actions prove that I love God?

No.

If I don’t do things that make God happy, things that help me become closer to God, things that help other people to see God, my heart does not belong to God.

The prophet Isaiah said that the Israelites were like that. They said that they loved God. They said that they honored God. But, they didn’t do things that honored God. Isaiah wrote in verse 13, "The Lord says, 'These people come to honor me with words, but I am not really important to them. The worship they

give me is nothing but human rules they have memorized.'"

God says that someday this would change. God says in verse 23 that someday, "they will say that my name is holy. They will honor the Holy One of Jacob. They will respect the God of Israel." Someday, everyone will obey God. Someday, everyone will give God the love and honor that He deserves.

I hope you don’t wait for "someday." I hope you do things now that show God and the world how much you love and honor God.

Let’s pray. Heavenly Father, help us to do things that show You and other people that we love You. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Please click the logo and download the Inductive Bible Study Guide, not for me, but because spending time studying God’s word is a great way to show Him that you love Him.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page