top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

Wednesday at the Well: Proverbs 2:6-11 - Wisdom & Keeping Secrets

Updated: Mar 25, 2020


Bible Verses to Explore: Proverbs 2:6-11

Suppose your friend tells you a secret. Suppose you think she needs help, but promised not to tell anyone what her secret. Should you break your promise? Should you

tell someone your friend’s secret?

First ask God to give you the wisdom so you can know what to do. God says in James 1:5 “Do any of you need wisdom? Ask God for it. He is generous and enjoys giving to everyone. So he will give you wisdom.” Proverbs 2:6-11 also talks about seeking wisdom from God. This passage reads, “For the Lord gives wisdom; from his mouth come knowledge and understanding. He holds success in store for the upright, he is a shield to those whose walk is blameless, for he guards the course

of the just and protects the way of his faithful ones. Then you will understand what is right and just and fair – every good path. For wisdom will enter your heart, and knowledge will be pleasant to your soul. Discretion will protect you, and understanding will guard you.”

Next, think about your friend’s situation. Ask yourself some questions. For example, “Suppose I don’t tell, will my friend’s secret cause my friend or someone else to be hurt physically, emotionally, or spiritually?” “Does my friend need help that I can’t give to them?” “Is telling my friend’s secret to someone I trust the right thing to do, even if it isn’t the easy thing to do?” “Do I love my friend enough to risk losing him in order to do what is best for him?”

Nathan loved David enough to confront him about David’s sin because Nathan wanted the best for David (II Samuel 12:1-13). Jesus loved us enough to die for us because He wants the best for us. We should do what is best for our friends, too.

Please pray with me. Heavenly Father, give us the wisdom we need for every situation. In Jesus' name. Amen.

I hope you will download the Inductive Study Guide and learn more about seeking wisdom from God. (Just click the logo.)

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page