top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

Focus on Jesus this Christmas - Christmas Aftershocks Part 12

Updated: Mar 25, 2020


I hope you have enjoyed this special series of Christmas articles and your time focusing on Jesus this Christmas. I pray that you will have a blessed New Year! - Gayle

Bible Reading: John 17:20 & 21

Today is the last day in our “Christmas ‘Aftershocks’” series. Over the past number of days we have explored many “aftershocks,” things that keep rippling and rumbling

through our lives as we grow in our relationship with God and allow Him to work in and through us.

Our final “aftershock” is a challenging one. Because Jesus was born on that first Christmas then died and was resurrected on the first Easter, we can live a a life that is pure, holy, and completely devoted to God. In other words, we can be one with God.

John 17 records one of Jesus’ final prayers. In this prayer, Jesus prayed for us. Yes, Jesus prayed for you and for me! In verses 20 and 21 Jesus asked God to do something for us. These verses say this: “…I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me.” Jesus wanted us to be one with Him and with His Father.

Salvation through faith in Jesus Christ makes us one with God. However, as imperfect people, we struggle to remain one with God. We fail to live lives that please Him and neglect or choose to disobey Him. These things break our oneness with God. Therefore, we must work to remain one with God. We must determine to read His word, to talk to Him and listen to what He tells us, and to live in perfect obedience to Him. As long as we do those things, we will be one with God, just as Jesus wants us to be.

I pray that your life will be filled with the “aftershocks” of Christmas, that you will claim Jesus as your Lord and Savior, and live as one with Him and with the Heavenly Father. God Bless!

“Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.” Matthew 5:48

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank You for the eternal life I have because of my faith in Jesus. Help me to obey You every day so that I can continually be one with You and Jesus. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page