top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

How Not to Make a Fool of Yourself

Updated: Mar 25, 2020


Bible Reading: Proverbs 13:16

“But, I thought…!”

When you hear yourself saying those words, you know you are in trouble. Somehow, you’ve said or done something that was out of line. You’ve probably offended or

embarrassed someone. It’s possible that you have jeopardized your friendship with that person or damaged your friendship beyond repair.

In addition, you have embarrassed yourself and made yourself look foolish and uninformed. You likely have relived the scene again and again and thought, “How could I have been so stupid?” or “I sure made a fool of myself.”

You can avoid this trap by following the advice of Solomon, the wisest man who ever lived. In Proverbs 13:16 Solomon said “Every prudent man acts out of knowledge, but a fool exposes his folly.” In other words, make sure you know what you are talking about before you speak.

Let’s pray right now and ask God to help us to be wise and speak out of knowledge.

“Take control of what I say, O LORD, and keep my lips sealed” Psalm 141:3 NLT

Prayer: Heavenly Father, help me to always speak wisely and only on what I truly know to be accurate. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page