top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

We're Jesus' Friends

Updated: Mar 26, 2020


Bible Reading: John 15:14, 15

We often think of ourselves as servants of Jesus. We try to obey Him and do the things that we know will make Him happy. That’s what servants do.

However, in John 15:15 Jesus said, “I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master's business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.” Jesus says that when we obey Him, we become more than His servants. We become His friends.

As Jesus’ friends, we don’t obey His commands because we have to; we obey them because we want to. Obeying Jesus is how we show Him that we love him, just as looking after us is how Jesus shows us that He loves us.

Being Jesus’ friends, we don’t stop at just obeying His commands. We go on to spend time with Jesus, talking to Him and listening to Him talk. We share our plans with Him and He shares His plans with us. That’s what friends do.

Have you admitted to Jesus that you are a sinner?

Have you asked Him to forgive you and take charge of your life?

Have you become a friend of Jesus?

“You are my friends if you do what I command.” John 15:14

Prayer: Heavenly Father, forgive my sins. I want Jesus to become my Master and my Friend. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page