top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

Wednesday at the Well: Hebrews 3:13 - Encouragement-Write it!

Updated: Mar 26, 2020


Bible Verse to Explore: Hebrews 3:13

“But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called 'Today.'” The words in Hebrews 3:13 are simple and clear enough, but they can be challenging to put into practice, at least

for me. It can be hard for me to encourage other people. Sometimes I’m afraid I will say the wrong thing. Sometimes I don’t know what to say. Sometimes I can’t think of something to say when other people are around.

But, I know that God wants me to encourage other people. I Thessalonians 5:11a says, “So encourage each other and help each other grow stronger in faith.”

I want to obey God so I’ve found a way to encourage people even if I’m not in the

same room with them. How?

I write! Writing gives me a chance to think through my words before the other person hears them. I can write and rewrite and edit until my message says just the right thing.

You can write encouraging words, too. How?

Try these ideas: Write a letter. Write a poem. Write a song. Write a short note. Write an e-mail message. Write a psalm. Write a message in a card.

Is writing encouragement really biblical? Sure! Ephesians 5:19 says, “Encourage each other with psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs. Sing and make music in your hearts to the Lord.” Also, many of the psalms, proverbs, and Paul’s letters contain words written to encourage people.

I hope you will write some encouraging words to someone today.

“Tell everyone God's message. Be ready at all times to do whatever is needed. Tell people what they need to do, tell them when they are doing wrong, and encourage them. Do this with great patience and careful teaching.” 2 Timothy 4:2

Prayer: Heavenly Father, use my pen to encourage someone today.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page