top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

Following Instructions

Updated: Mar 26, 2020


Bible Reading: Isaiah 48:17, 18

Do you get confused trying to figure out what to do with your life? Do decisions about school, career, family, and serving God seem overwhelming?

If you’ve never seen some strange object before and you are trying to figure out how to put one together and make it work, it is wise to pay attention to the instructions. If you refuse to read and study the instructions or if you refuse to follow them, you probably won’t have much success or enjoyment using that object.

Likewise, if you are trying to figure out how to put your life together and make it work to maximize your usefulness and enjoyment, you need to pay attention to the “instructions.” In this case, the “instructions” are God’s words to us in the Bible.

In Isaiah 48:17 & 18 God said, “I am the LORD your God, who teaches you what is best for you, who directs you in the way you should go.” God wants you to have the best that life can offer. For him to do that, He needs to teach you. For God to be able to teach you, you have to pay attention to Him.

Are you paying attention to God’s instructions or are you trying to figure out life on your own?

“Show me your ways, O LORD, teach me your paths; guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.” Psalm 25:4 & 5

Prayer: Heavenly Father, you have my attention now. Teach me. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page