top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

Wednesday at the Well: Psalm 19:14 - Gossip (Part 2)

Updated: Mar 27, 2020


This Week’s Bible Verse to Explore: Psalm 19:14

Do you consider talking about other people gossip or just keeping up with what’s going on? Where do you draw the line?

Psalm 19:14 says, “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.” I pray that you and I and all Christians would take the words of this verse to heart. I pray that we will guard our tongues by choosing carefully the words we say and by checking our motives for saying them. To do that, here are some questions we can ask ourselves:

* Are these words truly helpful to anyone?

* Does the person I’m tempted to tell them to really need to hear them?

* Am I interested only in the reaction or attention I’ll get if I say them?

* Are the words I’m tempted to speak about someone who isn’t present to defend himself or herself or to correct any errors I might make?

* Will I break a confidence by speaking these words?

Are you willing today to decide to only speak good, helpful, kind, and truthful words? Are you willing to leave unsaid any hurtful, spiteful, mean, hateful, or attention-seeking

words?

Remember, what you think you will very likely speak sooner or later. Guarding your words begins with guarding your thoughts.

Oh, and don’t forget the warning found in Matthew 12:26 & 27 – “But I tell you that men will have to give account on the day of judgment for every careless word they have spoken. For by your words you will be acquitted, and by your words you will be condemned.”

Let’s pray. Heavenly Father, help us to guard our tongues and to learn to speak wisely and in love. Help us to pray for people instead of talking about them. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Now I’ll toss the ball to you. Click on the logo, download the Inductive Study Guide, and let the Holy Spirit teach you more about Psalm 19:14, and if you want more time with God, explore Matthew 12:36 & 37 inductively as well. Have fun!

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page