top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

Wednesday at the Well: Leviticus 19:31 - Future-Telling Gimmicks

Updated: Mar 27, 2020


Have you ever toyed with a Ouija board, horoscopes, numerology, or any other “fortune-telling” gimmicks?

Ouija boards, horoscopes, and the like may seem like “just something fun to pass the

time,” but they are dangerous. They can trap us. We can become addicted to them. They become the “gods” in our lives. We can become unwilling to make decisions without “consulting the stars” or “asking Ouija.”

Ouija boards, horoscopes, and other future-telling devices distract us from God. We can forget that we belong to Him and that He is in control of our lives. When we forget God is in control, we forget to trust Him. We begin to depend on these manmade things instead of depending

on God. When this happens, our worries increase and our peace and joy evaporate.

Leviticus 19:31 says, “Do not turn to mediums or seek out spiritists for you will be defiled by them. I am the Lord your God.” God wants us to come to Him when we have questions about our life and future. God wants us to trust Him to watch over our lives. When we trust God to take care of our future we will have true joy and peace of mind.

So, instead of turning trying to use man-made things to predict our future, lets claim the strength found in Psalm 28:7 – “The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song” and the words of Isaiah 41:10, “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Let’s put our future in the hands of the God that created us and all things, trusting Him to guide and direct us into whatever future He has planned for us.

Heavenly Father, keep our minds and thoughts on You. We trust You to guide us into the future. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Alrighty! I trust that you will click on the logo, get your copy of the Inductive Study Guide, and dig a bit deeper into Leviticus 19:31 and the surrounding verses so that you can better understand the dangers of man-made fortune-telling devises and the wisdom of entrusting your future to God.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page