top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

Beware of "Blind Guides"

Updated: Mar 27, 2020


Bible Reading: Matthew 15:13-14

There are many people in the world that, by their words or actions, are trying to entice us to follow them. They want us to think like they think. They want us to dress like

they dress. They want us to listen to the kinds of music and watch the kinds of TV shows and movies that they watch. In Matthew 15:13 & 14 Jesus calls these people “blind guides” saying, “He replied, ‘Every plant that my heavenly Father has not planted will be pulled up by the roots. Leave them; they are blind guides. If a blind man leads a blind man, both will fall into a pit.’”

We need to be alert that we don’t blindly follow someone without fully thinking through where that person is headed and what he or she is doing to get there. If that person is doing things that God doesn’t approve of and we choose to follow them, we would be like a blind person following a blind guide dog. We would be headed for certain disaster.

Let God be your most important hero and choose people who honor him to help lead you down the path that God wants you to follow.

Who are you following? Who have you chosen to be your example? Your mentor? Your hero?

What criteria did you use to select that person?

“My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me [Jesus].” John 10:27

Prayer: Heavenly Father, I want You to be my hero and mentor. Help me to follow You and to look to You for leadership in my life. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page