top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

Loopholes

Updated: Mar 27, 2020


Bible Reading: James 1:22

We are always looking for loopholes – ways to get out of doing things that we must do but don’t want to do like paying taxes and obeying the law. Sadly, we even look for

loopholes in God’s Law (the Bible) rather than simple obeying it.

For example, God has commanded us to forgive others and let God punish those who have hurt us. However, when someone has hurt us we often look for ways to escape forgiving them by thinking things like, “How can I get even?” “What can I do to get back at him?” “How can I hurt her like she hurt me?”

Looking for loopholes when God has given us a specific command is disobedience. God has made it clear what he expects of us in the area of forgiveness and revenge as well as many other areas of our lives. He doesn’t want us looking for loopholes. He expects us to simply obey his commands. He wants us to take the words of James 1:22 to heart. This verse says, “Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.”

When was the last time that you really studied the Bible so that you had a clear understanding of what God’s Law says?

Are you obeying God’s Law – or are you too busy looking for loopholes?

“He replied, ‘Blessed rather are those who hear the word of God and obey it.’” Luke 11:28

Prayer: Heavenly Father, I’m sorry that I’ve been looking for loopholes in your law. Forgive me and help me to simply obey it from now on. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page