top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

Why God Hates Lies

Updated: Mar 27, 2020


Bible Reading: Psalm 119:69

Psalm 119:69 says, “Though the arrogant have smeared me with lies, I keep your precepts with all my heart.”

Why does God hate lying so much? Lying ruins relationships. People who lie:

* Can’t be trusted (Psalm 5:9).

* Are deceitful (Psalm 12:2, 3).

* Are self-centered and don’t really love others (Psalm 28:3).

* Are proud and arrogant (Psalm 31:18).

* Are fools (Psalm 36:3).

* Are using their mouths to do evil (Psalm 50:19, 20).

* Are two-faced (Psalm 62:4)

* Are concealing their hatred of others (Proverbs 10:16).

* Are destructive (Proverbs 11:9).

* Bring shame and disgrace upon themselves (Proverbs 13:5).

How does God want us to deal with our own temptation to tell lies?

* Know when not to speak (Psalm 39:1).

* Speak with gentleness and wisdom (Psalm 49:3).

* Let God control our speech (Psalm 141:3).

* Know what we are talking about (Proverbs 15:2).

* Remember that we are accountable for every word we speak (Proverbs 21:3).

* Say only true things (1 Peter 3:10).

What does God want us to do when other people lie about us?

Follow David’s example in Psalm 119:69, “Though the arrogant have smeared me with lies, I keep your precepts with all my heart.”

“May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.” Psalm 19:14

Prayer: Heavenly Father, please make the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart pleasing in Your sight. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page