top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

The Altar

Updated: Mar 27, 2020


Bible Reading: Psalm 43:4

In Psalm 43:4 the psalmist wrote, “Then will I go to the altar of God, to God, my joy and my delight.” What is an “altar?”

An altar is “a place to offer sacrifices to God.” During the Old Testament days, the Israelites often made altars out of a mound of dirt or a pile of rocks. Then they would put the blood of an animal or sometimes the whole animal on the altar as a sacrifice to God.

We don’t have to put the blood of animals on our altar like the Israelites did because Jesus died and shed his blood once for all of us. He became the sacrifice for us.

When we kneel at the altar we’re saying, “God, I sacrifice my life for you.” That means God, I’m giving you my life. You use it in whatever way you think is best.”

Sometimes, when we know that God wants us to come to the altar to talk to him and listen to him, we feel nervous because we aren’t sure what it will feel like since we’ve never knelt at the altar before. Sometimes, we worry about what other people might say or we feel guilty because we know we have done something wrong and we feel ashamed and unworthy to come to such a special place to talk to God.

However, we should never be afraid to go to the altar. We can talk to God wherever we are, but the altar is a place that we have set apart as a special place to meet with God.

The next time you have the opportunity, go to the altar and talk to God.

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God's mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God – this is your spiritual act of worship.” Romans 12:1

Prayer: Heavenly Father, I want You to have control of my life. I sacrifice all I have and all I am to serve and honor You and You alone. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page