top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

The 12 Days of Christmas (Part 3)

Updated: Mar 27, 2020


Bible Reading: Exodus 20:1-17

“Ten lords a-leaping,” that’s the next line in the last verse of the song, The Twelve Days of Christmas. While I’m not sure why the lords were leaping, (perhaps they were

jumping for joy), I do know that the ten lords represent the Ten Commandments. The lords a-leaping serve as a reminder of these basics of God’s law:

1. Keep God first.

2. Worship only God.

3. Respect God’s name.

4. Observe the Sabbath Day.

5. Respect your parents.

6. Respect the lives of other people. (Do not murder.)

7. Keep your promises (Do not commit adultery.)

8. Do not steal.

9. Tell the truth.

10. Be satisfied with what God has given to you. (Do not covet or envy.)

I encourage you to take a few minutes to read, or reread, Exodus 20:1-17. Think about each commandment. Ask God to help you obey them.

[Jesus said], “If you love me, you will obey what I command.” John 14:15

Prayer: Heavenly Father, each time I sing about the ten lords a-leaping, help me to reflect on Your commandments to be sure I’m obeying them. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page