top of page
  • Gayle J. Thorn

Salvation Rainbow


Follow my Bible Journal Journey with Bloglovin

Bible Reading: Genesis 9:11-16

In Genesis 9: 12 & 13 we read about God’s creation of the rainbow. These verses say, “And God said, ‘This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every

living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come: I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth.’”

I love looking at rainbows. I love seeing that splash of colors draped across the gray clouds that linger after a rainy day.

I also love the symbolic message behind the rainbow. After allowing the whole earth to suffer the ugly consequences of it’s disobedience to God, God gave the earth a fresh

start marked by the never before seen beauty of a rainbow, his promise to never send another flood to cover the whole earth.

Why don’t you share the message of the rainbow with a friend?

While you’re at it, why not draw your friend a picture of a slightly different colored rainbow. Draw a yellow band to symbolize God’s plan for us to live with him forever. Draw a black band to symbolize the sin that forced us to live apart from God. Draw a red band to symbolize the blood Jesus shed as the punishment for our sins. Leave a white space to symbolize the fresh start we have when we accept Jesus’ punishment for our sins and ask for his forgiveness. Draw a green band to symbolize our growing to be more like Jesus throughout the rest of our lives. Finally, draw another yellow band to symbolize the eternity we have in heaven with God once we have received God’s forgiveness.

“Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.” Genesis 9:16

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank You for the rainbow and the promise it represents. Thank You, too, for the Salvation Rainbow. Help me to use it to tell people about Jesus. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page