top of page
  • Gayle J. Thorn

Names of God: I Am


When God told Moses that it was going to be Moses' job to lead the Israelites out of Egypt, Moses wasn't sure that anyone would listen to him. Moses asked God, "Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to

them, 'The God of your fathers has sent me to you,' and they ask me, 'What is his name?' Then what shall I tell them?" (Exodus 3:13)

God gave His name to Moses. God told Moses to say, "I AM has sent me to you." (Exodus 3:14; emphasis added)

What a strange name!

Why would God have a name like I AM?

I AM defines God's eternal nature. That means, that when God said, "I AM," to Moses, God existed at that moment. As we read God's name, "I AM," now, God exists now. When our grandchildren and their grandchildren read God's name, "I AM," God exists in their present reality, too.

Revelation 22:13 illustrates the eternal nature of God, I AM, too. This verse tells us that I AM is the alpha and the omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end. In other words, God existed at the beginning of time, God exists now, and God will exist when life on earth, as we know, it ends.

That type of eternal existence isn't possible for us. We weren't there when God created the earth. We haven't lived for every moment of our world's history. But God was there before creation, God is here now and God will be here for all eternity to come!

Let’s pray.

Heavenly Father, I feel so secure knowing that You have always been here, You are here now, and You will always be here. In Jesus' name. Amen.

Related Verses:

Revelation 22:13 – "I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End."

Exodus 3:12-15 “Moses said to God, ‘Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, “The God of your fathers has sent me to you,” and they ask me, “What is his name?” Then what shall I tell them?’ God said to Moses, ‘I am who I am. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: “I am has sent me to you”’ God also said to Moses, ‘Say to the Israelites, “The Lord, the God of your fathers—the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac and the God of Jacob—has sent me to you.’ This is my name forever, the name you shall call me from generation to generation.”

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page