top of page
  • Gayle J. Thorn

Candy Cane (3)


Bible Reading: Hebrews 13:20, 21

Today we are continuing our talk about the Christmas symbols found in the candy cane.

Hold up a candy cane. It looks like a shepherd’s staff. A shepherd used his staff to keep his sheep together. He also used it to lead his sheep, to protect his sheep, to guide his sheep, and to carry his sheep when necessary.

Jesus is our Shepherd. Jesus, Himself said in John 10:11, “I am the good shepherd, and the good shepherd gives his life for the sheep.” That means that Jesus not only takes care of us, protects us, and provides for us while we live here on earth, but He also chose to die to protect us from the eternal punishment for our sin. Jesus said in John 10:18, “No one takes my life away from me. I give my own life freely.”

Hang a candy cane on your Christmas tree, if you have one as a reminder that Jesus is the Good Shepherd who has given his life for you.

“The Lord is my shepherd. I will always have everything I need.”

Psalm 23:1

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for taking care of me. Thank you for leading me in the way you want me to go. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page