top of page
  • Gayle J. Thorn

Candy Cane (2)


Bible Reading: 1 Samuel 22:1-4

Yesterday we began talking about the Christmas symbols found in the candy cane. Today’s symbol is the hardness of the candy cane. Because the candy cane is hard, it

reminds that God is our Rock. What does this mean?

When the Israelites were in danger, they often ran into the mountains and hid in the rocks for protection. God is like that. God is our protection from danger. God is solid and dependable. He will never abandon us. He will always protect us. God is stronger than any rock or any mountain.

The hardness of the candy cane also reminds us that Jesus is our cornerstone. We must build our lives on Him and His plan. Why? Because “The Lord is the Rock, and his work is perfect! Yes, all his ways are right! God is true and faithful. He is good and honest.” (Deuteronomy 32:4)

Eat a candy cane today. When you do, tap it gently against your teeth to remind you that God is your Rock of Refuge. You can depend on Him to protect and take care of you.

“The Lord is my Rock, my fortress, my place of safety. He is my God, the Rock I run to for protection. He is my shield; by his power I am saved. He is my hiding place high in the hills.” Psalm 18:2

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for always being there to protect and take care of me. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page