top of page
  • Gayle J. Thorn

Thanks for the Bad


Bible Reading: Romans 8:18-30

Yesterday, we talked about being thankful for the good things in our lives. Today, we will talk about being thankful for the bad things in our lives.

I have had a lot of bad things happen to me. I almost lost my baby before she was born. Another time, I nearly died from a serious infection. I’ve been three car accidents.

It’s not easy to thank God for the bad things in our lives. They aren’t fun. We don’t really want to think about them.

It is important to tell God we are thankful for the bad things in our lives, even if we don’t feel thankful. In the future, after the bad has ended, we will see the good that comes from that bad.

It is also important to remember that God uses even the bad things to bless us. Verse 28 of today’s Bible reading says, “We know that in everything God works for the good of those who love him. These are the people God chose, because that was his plan.” When we give our lives to Jesus, God promises to always do what is best for us.

Take time this Thanksgiving to thank God now for the bad things and for the good that He will cause to come from them.

“We have sufferings now, but these are nothing compared to the great glory that will be given to us.” Romans 8:18

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank You for the bad things. Thank You for being with me through them. They help me to grow. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page