top of page
  • Gayle J. Thorn

Jesus, The Friend


Bible Reading: John 15:15

Can you imagine what it might have been like to be one of Jesus’ friends when he was here on earth? Imagine – eating with Jesus, going fishing with Jesus, traveling with Jesus, boating with Jesus,

talking and laughing with Jesus!

It may be hard to picture Jesus as “one of the guys,” But to his disciples and Mary, Martha, and Lazarus, Jesus was more than a teacher, Jesus was their friend. Jesus enjoyed their company. Jesus stayed in their home with them. Jesus ate with them. Jesus laughed with them. Jesus cried with them.

Jesus wants to be your friend, too. In John 15:15 Jesus said, “I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master's business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.” Jesus wants to be with you when you eat, go to school or work, when you are laughing at a good joke, when you are crying because of a broken heart.

Wouldn’t you like to have Jesus as your “friend who sticks closer than a brother”?

“A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.” Proverbs 18:24

Prayer: Heavenly Father, I want Jesus to be a part of my life. I want Jesus to be my Friend. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page