top of page
  • Gayle J. Thorn

Christmas Sacrifices: Jesus


Bible Reading: Hebrews 10:10

Let’s continue our series on Christmas Sacrifices. Let’s talk about the greatest sacrifice every made.

The soldiers in the U.S. military are often make sacrifices. They sacrifice the right to come and go as they please. They sacrifice their right to change jobs when they like. They sacrifice their freedom to live wherever they choose or move whenever they want. They sacrifice being with friends and family at Christmas and other holidays. They sacrifice the comfort of a soft bed and warm house. Soldiers willingly choose to make these sacrifices because they love America.

Hebrews 10:10 says, “Jesus Christ did the things God wanted him to do. And because of that, we are made holy through the sacrifice of Christ’s body. Christ made that sacrifice one time—enough for all time.” No one forced Jesus to sacrifice the glory, riches, power, and pleasures of being God’s Son and living in heaven. Jesus chose to make the greatest sacrifice of all. Jesus willingly chose to be born as a baby in a stable. Then Jesus chose to sacrifice His life and die for us – because He loves us.

Have you shown Jesus that you appreciate the sacrifice He made for you?

“The Father loves me because I give my life. I give my life so that I can get it back again. No one takes my life away from me. I give my own life freely. I have the right to give my life, and I have the right to get it back again. This is what the Father told me.” John 10:17 & 18

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank You for sending Jesus. Lord Jesus, thank You for making the greatest sacrifice of all time. Thank You for dying in my place. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Tell me about a member of the US Miilitary that made a memorable personal sacrifice for our country.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page