top of page
  • Gayle J. Thorn

Why Pray? (6)


Bible Reading: Romans 12:1-2

Let’s continue with our 10 reasons why you should pray.

Reason #5: To learn God’s will – His plan for our lives.

There are three ways that people learn: seeing, hearing, and doing.

Sometimes, we can learn things on our own. Other times, it is helpful to be taught by an experienced teacher. We can ask the teacher questions. We can listen to the teacher’s explanations. We can follow the teacher’s example. We can do projects assigned by the teacher to get hands-on experience. A good teacher will engage us using all three methods of learning.

Romans 12:2 says, “Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God's will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” Knowing God’s will for people in general is easy. God wants us to give every part of our lives to Him (Romans 12:1), avoid all forms of evil (Romans 6:13), and work to build God’s kingdom and His honor (Matthew 6:33).

When it comes to learning God’s specific will for our lives – what God wants each of us to do with our lives – the best teacher we can have is God, Himself. Our daily time with God, reading the Bible and praying (asking God questions and listening for His answers) will open our eyes and our minds and allow us to learn God’s will.

I hope you and I will always pray as David prayed in Psalms 143:10, “Teach me to do your will, for you are my God; may your good Spirit lead me on level ground.”

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.’” Jeremiah 29:11

Prayer: Heavenly Father, help me to live within Your will. Teach me Your specific plan for my life as I spend time daily with You in prayer. In Jesus' name. Amen.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page