top of page
  • Gayle J. Thorn

Paul's Prayer


Bible Reading: Ephesians 3:14-21

I love to pray for people, even people I don’t know. I also feel special when I learn that someone has prayed for me. I feel honored to know that Jesus prayed for you and me. His prayer is recorded in John 17.

Jesus wasn’t the only person who has prayed for us and had his prayer recorded in the Bible. Paul prayed for us, too. Today’s Bible reading contains Paul’s prayer for us.

What does this passage say Paul asked God to give us? In verse 16, Paul asked God to strengthen our faith. In verse 17, he asked God to fill us with Jesus and His love. In verse 18, Paul asked God to give us a deep understanding of Christ’s love and in verse 19 he asked that God fill us with all the good things God has to offer.

How was Paul able to ask God for so many amazing things for us? Because as Paul wrote in verse 20, God “is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.”

Paul didn’t know you or me personally, but he prayed for us.

I don’t know you personally, I am praying for you. I hope you will pray for me, too.

“Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.” James 5:16

Prayer: Heavenly Father, meet the needs of each person who reads this devotion. Bless them with Your presence in their lives. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page