top of page
  • Gayle J. Thorn

The "I Will" Covenant


Bible Reading: Hebrews 8:1-13 & 9:11-15

In the Old Testament, God established a covenant with the Jewish people. This covenant was filled with “you will…” commands. These commands were things each person was required to do to live up to his or her part of the covenant with God. It was impossible for anyone to perfectly honor this covenant and do all it required. This covenant was intended to set the stage for a new and better covenant.

Today’s Bible reading talks about this new covenant. Verse 15 says, “For this reason Christ is the mediator of a new covenant, that those who are called may receive the promised eternal inheritance – now that he has died as a ransom to set them free from the sins committed under the first covenant.” This new covenant that makes the old covenant of Abram invalid.

The new covenant that God made with us is an “I (God) will” covenant. In the new covenant, God has made a number of promises to us. God says,

“I will put my laws within you.” “I will write them on your heart.” “I will put My Spirit within you.” “I will forget your sins and failures.” “I will give you eternal life.” “I will love you with an everlasting love.”

In this new covenant, we become free. We no longer have a list of requirements, rules, and regulations that are impossible for us to keep.

Instead, God does everything. All we need to do is believe and accept. Nothing else is required. God promises that He will do the rest.

What about the “good” things believers do, such as praying, going to church, reading the Bible, and helping other people?

Those things are our response. They are the things we choose to do because of our great appreciation and gratitude for all God does.

“‘This is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel after that time, declares the Lord. I will put my laws in their minds and write them on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people…For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.’ By calling this covenant ‘new,’ he has made the first one obsolete; and what is obsolete and aging will soon disappear.” Hebrews 9:10, 12, & 13

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank You for the new covenant in Jesus. In Jesus' name. Amen.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page