top of page
  • Gayle J. Thorn

Good Students


Bible Reading: Psalm 119:33

Think of someone you know who is a good student. Why do you believe that person is a good student?

You probably think that person is a good student because he or she always listens to the teacher, does the assigned homework, takes good notes, and gets good grades.

God wants us to be good students of His word. He wants us to “do our homework.” That means we should read and study our Bibles, memorize Bible verses, and pray every day. We should be prepared to answer any and all questions asked of us about God, the Bible, and God’s plan of salvation. We should always listen to our teachers and pastors.

Psalm 119:33 says, “Teach me, O LORD, to follow your decrees;

then I will keep them to the end.” Unlike students of math, grammar, or physical education who have only a human teacher, we also have a heavenly teacher – God, Himself. When we have Jesus in our lives, God’s Holy Spirit is with us guiding us and teaching us all that God has for us to learn.

I hope you listen well to The Teacher and are a good student in His class!

“I am your servant; give me discernment that I may understand your statutes.” Psalm 119:125

Prayer: Heavenly Father, I want to be a good student of Your word. Teach me all You have for me to learn. In Jesus' name. Amen.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page