top of page
  • Gayle J. Thorn

In God's Image


Bible Reading: Genesis 1:27

I like to draw. When I draw, my drawings are images of whatever model I use, a photo, another drawing, or a real object. Sometimes my drawings look exactly like my model. At other times my drawings are composites of several models. Either way, my drawings are all done in the image of my model. They reflect the traits of the model.

Like my drawings, we are images. We are images of our Creator. Genesis 1:27 says, "So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them." God modeled us after the most perfect model there is, was, or ever will be – Himself!

Unlike my drawings, we images of more than God's outward appearance. We are images that reflect the inner traits and characteristics of our Creator/Model. Our Creator made us to be like Him in every way. He created us to be love, as He is love. He created us to be kind, and generous and patient, as He is. He created us to serve and share and encourage as He does. He created us to be perfect, just as He is perfect.

I hope you read the Bible daily. It is filled with information about our Creator. By reading and studying it every day we can learn what our Creator is like so we can be sure to live in a way that fully reflects His character. We can grow more and more to be a true image of God.

"And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord's glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit." 2 Corinthians 3:18

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank You for creating me in Your image. Help me to be a perfect reflection of You for other people to see. In Jesus' name. Amen.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page