top of page
  • Gayle J. Thorn

Become Less


Bible Reading: Mark 1:4-11 & John 3:23-36

John the Baptist was an important man. He was sent by God to help get people ready for Jesus.

John was also humble. He understood that Jesus was more important than John was. In Mark 1: 7 John said, "After me will come one more powerful than I, the thongs of whose sandals I am not worthy to stoop down and untie." John knew that Jesus was God's Son and John was God's servant.

John taught people that they needed to stop rebelling against God and start obeying God. He baptized people who wanted to show everyone that they believed what John said and wanted to live a life that pleased God.

Then, after Jesus began His ministry, John's ministry started to fade. Fewer people came to hear John speak. Instead, people began going to hear Jesus speak. People started to follow Jesus instead of John.

This made some of John's followers upset. They went to John and said, "Rabbi, that man who was with you on the other side of the Jordan—the one you testified about—well, he is baptizing, and everyone is going to him" (John 3:26).

John told them not to worry. He said, "I am not the Christ. He must become greater. I must become less" (John 3:28 & 30). John knew he needed to become less important and allow Jesus to become more important.

We need to be like John. We need to serve God eagerly. Then, as people begin to notice Jesus and His work in their lives, we need to step aside. We need to become less important and humbly allow Jesus to be the center of attention.

Ask God to help you reach others with the message of Jesus Christ. Also, ask God to help you to be humble and allow Jesus, not your work, to be what people see and remember.

"And this was his [John's] message: “After me will come one more powerful than I, the thongs of whose sandals I am not worthy to stoop down and untie. I baptize you with water, but he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit." Mark 1:7 & 8

Prayer: Heavenly Father, help me to share Jesus. Help me to make Him the focus of my life and my ministry. In Jesus' name. Amen.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page