top of page
  • Gayle J. Thorn

Abandoned


Bible Reading: Jeremiah 11:7-13

In Hebrews 13:5 God promised, "Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you." Yet in today's Bible reading God had abandoned Judah. Jeremiah 11:14 says, "Do not pray for this people nor offer any plea or petition for them, because I will not listen when they call to me in the time of their distress." If God has promised never to leave us or abandon us, why did He abandon Judah? How can we be sure that God will keep His promise to leave or abandon us?

First, we need to understand why God abandoned Judah. Jeremiah's words in today's Bible reading explain that Judah had abandoned God. Jeremiah 11:8 says, "But they did not listen or pay attention; instead, they followed the stubbornness of their evil hearts. So I brought on them all the curses of the covenant I had commanded them to follow but that they did not keep." Judah had chosen not to follow God. This nation had chosen not to obey God's commands. Judah had broken the covenant or promise she had made with God. As a result, God was no longer obligated to keep His promise to always be there to care for and protect Judah.

Next, we need to learn from Judah's mistake. We need to remember that as long as we keep our promise to follow and obey God, He will always be there for us to take care of us, provide for us, and protect us. However, if we abandon God, like Judah did, we are at great risk of losing God's care and provision.

I hope that you will always remain faithful to God so you can be assured that God will keep His promise -- "Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you."

"And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age." Matthew 28:20b

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank You for Your promise to always be with me. Help me to always be with You. In Jesus' name. Amen.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page