top of page
  • Gayle J. Thorn

Jesus' Errand


Bible Reading: John 17

I'm not crazy about errands. Grocery shopping, doctor's visits, and other odd jobs aren't much fun. They seem tedious and repetitive. They also take time -- sometimes too much time.

When Jesus came to earth, he had an errand to do, too. While most errands are small, unimportant jobs, Jesus' errand was the biggest, most important job anyone ever had to do. What was that errand?

Jesus, Himself, describes that errand in today's Bible reading. Verses 2 & 3 say, "For you granted him authority over all people that he might give eternal life to all those you have given him. Now this is eternal life: that they may know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent."

Jesus did the errand God gave Him freely, willingly, and without complaint for you and for me.

I hope you have accepted the result of Jesus' errand -- forgiveness and eternal life -- as His gift to you. If you haven't, please do so today!

"Righteous Father, though the world does not know you, I know you, and they know that you have sent me. I have made you known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them." John 17:25 & 26

Prayer: God, thank You for sending Jesus to die in my place so I could live with you forever. In Jesus' name. Amen.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page