top of page
  • Writer's pictureGayle Thorn

Welcome!

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

Life changes.

My life has changed.

As a result, I am discontinuing this website/blog.

I have posts planned through June 26, 2023. After that, I plan to continue to write and share my devotions and artwork via my social media accounts on Facebook, LinkedIn, and True Social. (If you use a different social media platform and would prefer to have me share on it, let me know and I will consider opening an account on that platform.)

If you would like to continue reading my posts, you may follow me on one of the above social media platforms. I am considering sending my posts to subscribers. If you are interested in receiving a weekly email from me with that week’s post, let me know and I will consider the level of interest in my thought process.

Thank you for faithfully following and reading my posts for the past few years.

God bless!


Gayle


Bible Reading: Galatians 4:14


How would you react if an angel or Jesus, himself, knocked at your door? What kind of greeting would you give to that angel or to Jesus?


How would you react if someone that you didn’t like or someone who didn’t like you knocked at your door? Would you greet that person differently than you would greet the angel or Jesus?

Paul’s illness apparently made him a difficult guest. Perhaps he had special needs that were hard to fulfill. Perhaps the discomfort of his illness made him a bit grumpy. Perhaps he required a lot of around-the-clock type medical care.

Whatever the reason, Paul seemed to realize that the people of Galatia didn’t have to welcome him with open arms. Evidently, there may have been reason for them to be less than thrilled with Paul’s “knocking at their door.” However, Paul says, “Even though my illness was a trial to you, you did not treat me with contempt or scorn. Instead, you welcomed me as if I were an angel of God, as if I were Christ Jesus himself” (Galatians 4:14).

Even with the reasons that the Galatians may have had for reacting to Paul’s arrival as though he were an unwelcome guest, the people treated Paul as if he were an angel – or even Jesus Christ, himself!

Give some thought to the way that you “welcome” unwelcome guests at home, at school, at church, and around town.


“For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; “and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love.” 2 Peter 1:5-7


Prayer: Heavenly Father, give me a warm, welcoming heart like the Galatians’ heart. In Jesus’ name. Amen.




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page