top of page
  • By Gayle J. Thorn

Wednesday at the Well: Psalm 119:9-16 - Memorize God's Word

Updated: Mar 25, 2020


Bible Verses to Explore: Psalm 119:9-16

Memorizing scripture is a wonderful way to have God’s Word with you anytime, anywhere. Jesus promised in John 14:26 that His Holy Spirit would help us learn God’s

word. This verse says, “the Helper will teach you everything and cause you to remember all that I told you. This Helper is the Holy Spirit that the Father will send in my name.”

Maybe you’ve memorized a few Bible verses but seem to have trouble remembering them. Don’t worry. Don’t give up! God’s Spirit will remind you of the verses that you’ve memorized when you need them.

There are many ways to memorize Bible verses. Find one that you like and start memorizing!

Here’s a simple memory plan you might like to try:

  1. Choose a verse.

  2. Write the verse on a 3x5 card.

  3. Read the verse seven times each day for one week.

  4. Repeat this each week using a new verse.

I hope you are like the person who wrote today’s Bible reading. I

hope you can say to God, “I enjoy your laws. I will not forget your word.” (Psalm 119:16) Hey! That would be a great verse to memorize!

Here’s another pair of great verses to memorize – Psalm 119:12 & 13 – “Lord, you are worthy of praise! Teach me your laws. I will repeat the laws we have heard from you.”

Heavenly Father, help us to memorize Your word, then help us to remember Your word when I need it. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Now that I’ve given you a few tips and suggested a couple of verses to get you started on your memory program, I hope you will download the study guide (click on the logo), explore these verses a bit more so you have a good understanding of these verses as you get started committing them to memory. Have fun!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page